Maine Approves Workers' Comp Reform
Oct 27, 2019The state of Maine will enact a number of changes to its workers’ compensation law effective January 1. Changes include an increase of the maximum weekly benefit from 100 percent to 125 percent of the state’s weekly wage, an annual cost-of-living adjustment for fully disabled workers, and an extension of the claim reporting period from 30 to 60 days. Partial incapacity benefits will also increase from 10 years to 12 years. The amended bill L.D. 756 was unanimously passed by both the House and Senate on June 14.